Episode 68 Review

Wow, between Sun and Moon and Winter Break it’s been quite some time since my last episode. Now that that’s all over, I’ll be trying to get back into a more regular routine.

To put it simply, this episode had me stressed out. I knew I had to do a special episode to coincide with the release of Sun and Moon, but there were so many problems I had to deal with. The biggest was how little we actually knew about Sun and Moon at the time. It was easy for me to write the Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire special two years ago because even if those games hadn’t come out at the time, we already knew mostly everything about them due to the original Ruby and Sapphire. I had no such benefit this time around. To make things worse, the obvious connections between Solgaleo/Lunala and Heliosol/Seluna were just begging to be addressed in the episode, but with so little information confirmed about Solgaleo and Lunala, there was no way that I could extrapolate any well-detailed plot connections between the two. Of course now in hindsight we know that Solgaleo and Lunala have little to do with the actual Sun and Moon themselves, but before the release of game, for all we knew, they could have been the creators of the Sun and Moon, which would have caused some major problems no matter what I wrote in the special. So in the the end, I had to go with the very simple concept of turning Lunala and Solgaleo into the “emissaries” of Seluna and Heliosol. What exactly does emissary mean in this instance? I couldn’t even tell you. And as you might know if you’ve been following this sight for the past two months is that even with as simple of an explanation I gave for the connection between the two sets of Legendaries, I still had to make retcons once the games came out. I never would have even guessed that Lunala and Solgaleo were in-fact Ultra Beasts, and that little fact completely invalidated my entire description of how Heliosol and Seluna were connected to them. Now I’m left with some overly convoluted explanation that Cosmog was created when some of the Cosmic Architect’s energy fell down the first Ultra Wormhole. Oh well, not much I can do about it now short of some more retcons, which I’d rather just not do. The one other thing that gave me some issues was my guest character. Just as Steven appeared in my last special, I wanted a character from Sun and Moon to appear here. I debated between Kukui, Samson Oak, and Lillie. They all presented problems. Just as with the Legendaries, we really knew nothing about any of them at the time. What made things worse, was if I was going to claim that my series takes place after the Sun and Moon anime, then I would have to make sure I don’t contradict anything that might happen in the show with any of those characters. In the end, I went with Kukui because we had met him already in the Sun and Moon demo, allowing me to know his character and personality well enough to write for him. That, combined with trailers for the Sun and Moon anime allowed me to approximate what is to be expected from his interactions with Ash.

Leave a Reply

