Opinion Piece: MissingNo. (and Other Glitches)

First off, I would like to apologize for the recent lack of activity. First I was on Spring Break and unable to write, and the past week or so I have been extremely busy with school. Hopefully you can expect a new episode to arrive within a few days. Now, down to business.

I hope you all enjoyed my little April Fools joke. I had a lot of fun putting together. It was amusing imagining what it might be like if I were to turn MissingNo. into an actual Pokémon and dedicate an episode to it. However, I am now going to have to remove MissingNo. from the Pokédex section to remove any future confusion, that includes its in-depth page. For archiving purposes, I’ll copy and paste it onto the bottom of the Pokédex Entry post made about it.

Now, with that all being said, I feel like I might have given the wrong impression about my opinion of MissingNo., and other glitches in the game by extension. While I do find MissingNo. to be a fascinating glitch, it is nothing more than that. It is simply a glitch. I am always baffled when I see people on the internet treat it as if it were an actual Pokémon. What also bugs me is the culture that has seen to grown up around this and other glitches in the original games (namely, the Mew Glitch). In my opinion, it is not a wise move to purposely glitch your game, after all, doing so means you are actively attempting to break the game’s programming, and I really can’t see doing this in a positive light. It’s even worse when said glitches are used to exploit the game, rather than just have fun. Using MissingNo. to multiply your Rare Candies, or using a glitch to catch a Mew is in the end cheating. What annoys me even more about the “glitch culture” as I call rather it than just the fascination with glitches, is the people who actually begin to think of such glitches as acceptable means of catching Pokémon and progressing through the game. I don’t care if there’s no other way to catch a Mew, the Mew Glitch is not a valid method, it’s still cheating in the end. Of course, that’s the way I see it at least.

Leave a Reply

