Episode 38 Review

To answer the question on everyone’s mind: yes, that episode was inspired by Scooby Doo. I’m sure the next question you want to ask is why. I was inspired to write this episode a few months ago. I was on a cruise, the TV in my room had very limited channels, and nothing was on, so I decided to watch Scooby Doo. As a child, I watched Scooby Doo all the time (maybe not as much as Pokémon, but that should be obvious as I’m not writing a Scooby Doo fan fiction). Back then, I always loved Scooby Doo because it had it’s own style that never changed, and using that to your advantage, you could solve any mystery they presented. I found that fascinating. Going back and watching Scooby Doo again, I realized how recognizable this pattern is, and how just about anyone could probably recognize it. This got me thinking about how it would be fun if some other shows attempted to use the style and format of a Scooby Doo episode. I quickly realized that that option was available to me, and that after thinking about it, I realized that Scooby Doo could probably translate pretty well over into Pokémon, so I decided to give it a try. Originally, I planned to have this episode take place later in the series, but then, in a last minute decision, I decided to make it in time for Halloween. The references I made include:

  • The characters: Pikachu was Scooby, Ash was Shaggy, Brock was Fred, Brenda was Daphne, and Detective Jenny was Velma. I feel like the characters all translated over fairly well (Especially Ash/Shaggy and Pikachu/Scooby).
  • The plot involved a monster, that turned out to be a fake in the end.
  • There were three suspects: the obvious choice (Team Rocket), the red herring (Mr. Contesta), and the least suspected choice who turns out to be the culprit (Malcolm).
  • The plot progression: an introduction to the suspects, followed by a short investigation, then the “gang” splits up, the serious group finds a red herring clue, the non-serious group finds and gets chased by the monster. After the chase, one final clue is found to solve the mystery, then the trap (complete with live bait, and the bribery for the bait), then the trap fails, but the monster is still caught by accident.
  • Too many quotes to list.
Leave a Reply

