Episode 36 Review

I will admit that it was a bit of a mistake to have Helioptile prominently featured two episodes in a row. I had planned this episode first, and then I when I was planning the episode before it I decided that Will’s newest Pokémon should be a Light-Type. I didn’t want to use any of the Light-Types already made for Cosmic Quest, as they’ve been a bit over-used, and I didn’t want to introduce a new one yet. Then I started thinking about old Pokémon that became Light-Types. Helioptile came straight to mind and I thought it was a perfect fit. I figured I could justify it by having Will have caught it nearby, as in the location of the following episode, and it kind of worked, but I wouldn’t say it was perfect. As far as this episode itself went, I knew that I wanted it to show off the sun aspect of Turcell/Turtsol, and I thought it would be fun to pair it up with Helioptile and Helioisk, the other solar powered Pokémon. One ironic point was that my original idea was to have Ash and Turcell try to teach Helioisk how to use Sunny Day, Turcell wasn’t going to learn it all. Then I realized that Helioptile and Helioisk can’t learn Sunny Day, not even through TMs. (Which is completely ridiculuous if you ask me, as they’re more associated with the sun than almost any other Pokémon that can learn Sunny Day. To make matters worse, they don’t even learn Solar Beam through TM. Being solar powered Pokémon, Solar Beam is like the definition of them, and should be a signature move of theirs. Very silly and senseless move on Game Freak’s part.) I considered just not worrying about it and using the excuse that in Luna, Terra, and Sol Version they can learn Sunny Day, but decided that people who don’t visit this website might think that I hadn’t done my research. So in the end, Turtsol got two new moves with its evolution instead of one.

Leave a Reply

